California…Knows How to Party

November 18, 2008 at 4:09 pm (anthropology)

I am leaving tomorrow for my first-ever trip to California to present a paper that is not yet written.  Whoo hoo!  Navigatrix will be accompanying me, since I cannot seem to do a national meeting without her lately.

Last time I left town I broke my foot.  And the time before that I succumbed to a grave illness.  I hope my luck changes for the better.

Anyone want to help me write this paper?  Feel free to share what you know about botanical gardens in the comments field.

5 Comments

  1. Mama Ass said,

    Well, the Daisy Troop planted some paperwhite bulbs to start the garden journey. They are starting to bloom. They are next to the hamster cages, so it must seem like a crazy garden to them. I don’t know anything about botanical gardens.

  2. TragicCrusade said,

    I know that they are more like museums than parks wait how do I know that….

    Sorry this might get infinite self referential fast — Good luck with that!

  3. ashyknees said,

    Flowers are pretty.

    What part of CA are you going to?

    Have a safe journey. (Notice how I didn’t say trip.)

  4. La Belle Helene said,

    Botanical gardens have been used as a symbol of colonialism–like, hey look at all these neat plants that we’ve taken from our colonies!

  5. Ten Feet said,

    How did the conference go? Was your paper a resounding success? Did you have fun?

Leave a Reply

