Diagnosis

November 13, 2008 at 6:37 pm (Uncategorized)

After being poked, prodded, squished, flattened, stuck, scraped, and violated, I have been diagnosed with polycystic ovarian syndrome.  I will take metformin for 6 weeks and then I’ll get stuck and squished again.  It sucks to have a syndrome (at least I don’t have a “condition”) but maybe now my mustache and my belly won’t be so noticeable.

Some good news: My endocrinologist said  that my bad cholesterol was the lowest she’d ever seen in a patient.   I suppose I have to thank my daily bowl of oatmeal, because, even though I don’t really trust the nurtitional info we get from the media, I don’t think it’s because of the pie, pizza, and cheeseburgers.

8 Comments

  1. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Actually, there is very dubious correlation between the consumption of saturated fats and levels of bad cholesterol. From what I understand, LDL is more closely correlated to triglycerides, which are more affected by carbohydrate consumption than anything else.

  2. Lex said,

    I was just at my endo today and she said that 10% of women have PCOS. 10%!!

    This is after I got a lecture about my diet (poor) and lack of exercise.

  3. Quiconque said,

    Pizza, pie, and cheeseburgers all have carbs, too (Man, I’ve been eating a lot of pizza lately).

    My endo was very nice, and did not lecture me about my diet and exercise. I think the limp and the crutch helped me out there.

  4. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Yes, they do. This is not to say that everyone who eats carbs will have high LDL (although low-fat/low protein/high-carbohydrate diets pose a danger of elevating LDL in proportion to HDL). However, it’s unlikely that the oatmeal really is the reason for your very low LDL. A lot of people eat daily oatmeal and continue to have problems with their LDL or see some reduction but nothing drastic. If your LDL is unusually low, I’m guessing that’s just how your blood lipids roll.

  5. La Belle Helene said,

    The related post automatically generated by the computer for this post is: “We’re worried that parents won’t kill their Down syndrome babies anymore”. Weird and completely unrelated.

  6. balladofyoko said,

    I have another friend who has PCOS. It sounds like it’s manageable, although she also mentions a restrictive diet.

  7. ashyknees said,

    I hope your diagnosis is a bit of a relief. Giving a condition a name seems to make it easier to deal with.

    I think a syndrome carries more clout than a disorder, but neither of them beats a disease.

  8. Dumbokie said,

    My Sweet,

    Just found 3 comments over on DumbOkie on the blogspot. I’ve pretty much left DumbOkie behind and gotten caught up in FB instead. I would love to catch up with you. Do I have a current email address for you? Can you send an email to my yahoo account?

    My friend, SmarterOkie, who is still back home, has been living with PCOS for many years now. She also has a diagnosis of fibromyalgia, and on the whole is rather unwell. Apparently, though, treatment for PCOS greatly reduced her symptoms.

    Anyway, I miss you.

    Here’s to a happy and healthy 2009 —

    Much love,
    DumbOkie

Leave a Reply

