Women Can Be Haters, Too

July 29, 2008 at 9:19 am (Entertainment)

I have got to stop reading Yahoo news.  I can’t help clicking on the stupid headlines that emerge when I check my email.   But for my own peace of mind, I need to resist them.  Honestly, aside from the authors of my textbook, there isn’t a lazier group of published writers in the English language.

Today’s tidbit concerns a new SONY game, Fat Princess, which, acc. to Yahoo,

is a capture-the-flag game with a twist: you can thwart capture attempts by locking the once-thin princess in a dungeon and stuffing her full of cake, thereby increasing her girth and making her harder for your enemies to haul back to home base.

As you can imagine, this game doesn’t win fans among feminists and fat-acceptance activists.   As one female gameplayer eloquently commented,

Anyway, congrats on your awesome new game, Sony. I’m positively thrilled to see such unyielding dedication to creating a new generation of fat-hating, heteronormative assholes. It’s not often I have the opportunity to congratulate a cutting-edge tech company on such splendiferous retrofuck jackholery. Way to go! The Fat Princess of Shakes Manor salutes you. Source: LindseyIndigo on Current.com

“Splendiferous retrofuck jackholery.”  That is sublime.

An interview with SONY art director, James Green, revealed that the creator of Fat Princess is, GASP, a woman!  In response to which the extremely enlighted Ben Silverman muses,

Hmmm…hope the game’s detractors don’t mind eating a bit of crow.

Right, because feminism is women against men.  And women never act or think in ways that block their own emancipation.  And fat people never experience discrimination from women.  Women love everyone, especially other women.

Splendiferous retrofuck jackholery, indeed.

4 Comments

  1. Big Fat Deal » Fat Princess said,

    […] the game was written by a woman!” doesn’t really hold water either. (I think we can all name at least one woman who hates fat people, if we think really […]

  2. SugarLeigh said,

    Wow.

    Just wow.

    The tone of that snide sentence was so blatant, all I really heard was, “nya nyaaaa! It was a GIRL who made fun of you, so THERE, you bunch of GIRLS, you’re just jealous because I have a weewee! Freud said so!”

    I really don’t know whether to laugh or snort in abject derision. Way to miss the point!

  3. TragicCrusade said,

    To this game WTF??? and WTF and WTF who green lit this CRAP ?

    To woman on woman hatred.
    three words Psychology of Oppression

  4. Eve L. said,

    Between “The tone of that snide sentence was so blatant, all I really heard was, “nya nyaaaa! It was a GIRL who made fun of you, so THERE, you bunch of GIRLS, you’re just jealous because I have a weewee! Freud said so!” and “Splendiferous retrofuck jackholery”, I’m really glad I read your journal.

Leave a Reply

