Tiny Achievement

July 28, 2008 at 1:31 pm (der Fuß)

Who stood on her right foot for the first time in 4 and a half months?  Yes, it’s ME!  My bare right foot actually touched the floor, and then I put weight on it.  My left leg and both arms were helping too, thanks to the bench in the PT place.  This weekend, I also stood in the kitchen for 2 minutes (gripping onto the sink) and stood in the bathroom with help from the towel bar.

It was odd, strange, and a little unsettling.  The weight felt heavier on the right side.  I mean, that I could even feel the weight was strange.  Because my left leg just feels like it feels when I stand on it.  Sometimes it feels tired.  Sometimes the knee aches.  But I never felt gravity pull straight down through my heel.

And the tendons and ligaments, they are tight.  They are unused to working in tandem.  And my right leg feels a little shorter than the left (when in fact the opposite was true before the accident).  Stretching is key.  The entire leg will get stronger before it gets flexible.  So, once I am strong enough to walk, I will probably clomp along like Frankenstein’s monster.

In other news, the car insurance company has scheduled an appointment for me with their medical examiner in August.  Way to get on that claim as soon as possible.

4 Comments

  1. yoko said,

    Hooray for standing on two feet again!

  2. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Woot!

  3. Quiconque said,

    In the bathroom this morning, I stood with the aid of the towel bar…..and then I raised my hands in the air as if I didn’t care. Yes, yes, ya’ll, to the beat, ya’ll.

  4. Eve L. said,

    One giant leap for Quiconque!

Leave a Reply

