Verdict: Work Sucks

June 24, 2008 at 10:17 pm (Uncategorized)

Married To The Sea
marriedtothesea.com

Today was my first day back since the accident.  As tiresome and boring as convalescence has been, work is infinitely worse.  My moronic, lazy, and hateful bosses have managed to become more moronic, lazier, and more hateful in my absence.

Moronic and lazy, why, what can I mean?  Since I don’t have access to my actual desk, I thought I would spend the week entering the course catalogue into the online registration module.  It’s not difficult, but it is tedious and time-consuming.  No one else in my office has bothered to learn the software.  However, I couldn’t do it, because the catalogue is not ready–they’re still putting finishing touches on it.  They were putting “finishing touches” on it the week of my accident.   More annoying, my Useless Boss informed me that they will not be doing online registration this year because, “We didn’t know when you would be back.”  So, a registration module that took 8 people two years to create and implement is going to be abandoned in its SECOND YEAR because my bosses are too lazy to learn the software or too dimwitted to send the student worker to the computer center for training.   Now, I know, I am the assistant, and therefore detailed work should fall to me.  But that means that the bosses should be focused on the big picture.  That neither of them has considered how enrollment might be adversely affected by their laziness astounds me.  That these two incredibly self-centered people haven’t considered how a drop in revenue might adversely affect their own employment is even more amazing.

But, really, are they hateful too?  Oh, my yes.  A few weeks ago, the dean had a building-wide meeting to discuss issues pertinent to all the departments housed in our building.   During the meeting, my Hateful Boss interrupts the dean to say, “Our department is in a bad situation because we don’t know when Quiconque is returning.  I’ve tried to contact her and she hasn’t gotten back to me.  I don’t know how she’s doing and I can’t plan the semester.”  To which the dean replied that her comments would be addressed at another time and that the meeting was not the appropriate venue.  Luckily, Irmaturd and Crust were there.  Irma approached the dean after the meeting and informed her that my Hateful Boss is a liar.  I have repeatedly emailed her and informed her when I was coming back.  So, the question is, why is she trying to jam me up to the dean in front of other departments?

So, would I be paranoid in predicting that when the registration situation blows up that somehow I will be blamed?

3 Comments

  1. ashyknees said,

    Here again is another work situation for which LSD may be the answer. Dropping acid could help you understand your bosses’ thought patterns.

    Seriously, I’ll bet your ass-covering instincts are right on point. I look forward to hearing that you’ve blown that Popsicle stand.

  2. La Belle Helene said,

    It will be your fault. Who told you to break your foot and not be allowed to walk on it for weeks? Who told you to work for such a disorganized and lazy bunch of people?

  3. Ten Feet of Steel said,

Leave a Reply

