Progress

June 10, 2008 at 7:13 am (der Fuß)

It’s been six weeks since the operation, eight weeks since the accident.   I know you’re all wondering what’s going on with the foot.

I still can’t walk.  I mean, I’m still not allowed to walk.  I have no idea if I’m physically unable to walk, although chances are if my doctor says on Thursday that I can walk, I probably can walk right now.  But I will not attempt to walk until the doctor tells me to, because the last thing I want to do is break or strain something and be laid up again for the rest of the summer.

I had my first physical therapy session last week.  The training is limited right now, since I cannot walk, but the exercises did kick my ass a little.  The ice and the massage were heavenly though.  I will happily kick my own ass daily if someone can promise me a massage at the end of the session.

My foot doesn’t hurt anymore.  It just feels weird, like I can feel the screws inside, or I can feel the scabs pulling at the incision point.  In general, it feels a little like the aftershock of hitting one’s funnybone.  Painkillers don’t help with that, but exercise and elevation seem to lessen it.

I’m slowly regaining my primate birthright.  Bipedalism may be a few days down the road, but I was able to pick a spoon off the floor with my toes last night.  Whoot!

5 Comments

  1. ashyknees said,

    It’s amazing how quickly the body can repair itself, especially if the brains behind the body decide to keep up with the physical therapy. This whole incident may make you better, stronger, faster.

  2. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    I hope we will all get an update Thursday.

    Hey, will your screws set off metal detectors?

  3. Quiconque said,

    Acc. to Ichi, who has titanium in his ankle, no, the screws should not set off metal detectors.

  4. Mama Ass said,

    xoxo — hope it goes well!!

  5. TragicCrusade said,

    You and your weakness for men with metal parts

Leave a Reply

