Yucca!

May 31, 2008 at 9:12 pm (Uncategorized)

I am out of convenience foods.  Anything left in my kitchen requires cooking.  And, although I generally like to cook, I don’t much enjoy cooking on one foot.

Last week my mother gave me a bag of frozen yucca, like I would know what to do with it.  “Yucca!” I said when she presented the bag to me.  “Cassava,” she corrected me.  Yes, I know it’s both.   My mother often fries it, or grates it and makes a sweet pone with coconut out of it.  But I decided to try something different (for me, at least).

I’m not a big fan of measuring things out unless I’m baking.  So, if you want to do as I did:  Halve the yucca and cut it into 2-3 inch chunks.  Boil it with salt for 20 minutes.  In another pan, briefly saute half a headsworth of minced garlic, 1/2 a chopped onion, (or, in my case, take out some frozen pre-chopped onion), 1/4 c olive oil, 1/4 c lemon juice and salt.   When the yucca’s boiled, drain the water (if you have any left.  I didn’t) and pour the sauce over it.  Mash the hell out of it with a wooden spoon.  I suppose it feeds a family of four, but I’m eating it all tonight.

Oh, and in the center of each yucca piece there will be a hard fibrous string.  Don’t eat that.  It’s easier to remove once the yucca is cooked.

3 Comments

  1. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    I was very covetous of your yucca as you described it over the phone. Now I am covetous of your yucca over this blog.

  2. balladofyoko said,

    I would love to hear how your mom makes it, too.

  3. La Belle Helene said,

    I like when mother fries the cassava. But first you must boil it. Then fry it nice and crispy. All it needs is a little salt. Yum!

Leave a Reply

