News

May 29, 2008 at 2:07 pm (Dating, der Fuß, Work)

Three important things were supposed to happen this week: Sexy date on Monday, job interview on Tuesday, doctor’s visit on Thursday. 

Alas, there was no sexy date on Monday.  Ichi, my latest suitor, had to stay home and take care of things.  So, I spent the weekend at home, alone, while friends and family called me and told me all about the many burgers they ate.  I have not eaten a cheeseburger since the drive home from Boston the day after the accident.  Those of you who know me well can imagine what torture it was for me to hear tales of faraway burgers.  I consoled myself with lime-flavored tortilla chips and nacho cheese. Cold comfort. (To forestall any hateration, I must emphasize that Ichi did call me several times over the weekend, and we talk on the phone for a couple hours every day.  He’s very nice).  I will probably not have a sexy date for a long time.  Ichi’s job obligations will end just when I need to return to work.

The job interview went very well.  I have no idea whether I will get the job.  But I didn’t say anything I didn’t want to say and I didn’t leave out anything I wanted to say.  I did impress them on a few points.  I hope to hear from them soon.  (I also found out that they use the same health insurance as my current job; so I wouldn’t have to switch doctors if I get hired).  I really do hope I get the job, because it seems like I can be creative and grow professionally in that position, as opposed to the dead-end job I have now.   And the pay is better.

My foot emerged from its cast this morning and saw its shadow, which means at least 2 more weeks of non-walking.  This, of course, means at least one week of crawling up and down the stairs in my apartment building.  The good news is that I can finally wash the entire foot.  (Once I find the adapter for my camera, hideous pictures will be emailed to all who wish them.  I will not post them here, for the sake of small children, and for my own desire to remain remotely attractive to certain people with whom I would like some sexy dates).  I still have to shower in the chair, and, of course, I can’t put any weight on my foot. 

Physical therapy starts next week.  I’m glad I have so many prescription painkillers left.  I predict it will hurt somewhat. 

2 Comments

  1. GunMonkey said,

    Well, at least he called you a couple times as opposed to, say, accidentally send you the text message he meant for the person he blew you off for saying “see you tonite!” Not that that ever happened to me.

    Glad to hear you’re slowly returning to the land of the bipedal.

  2. Mama Ass said,

    I am ready for pictures!

Leave a Reply

