Another Update

May 21, 2008 at 3:36 pm (Uncategorized)

What is going on with me?  Well, as you can expect, very little, since I don’t leave the house much.

My foot is getting better.  I can sense it.  Today it felt pretty much like a normal foot.  I’m still forbidden to put any weight on it, and I am not pressing my luck on that.  I do hope that my doctor will tell me next week that things have progressed better than expected and I can start walking again.    Renovations of my elevator start the second week of June, and either I start crawling up the stairs on my hands and knees or I become homebound for sure.

The Assistant, aka my good student worker, stopped by for a visit yesterday.  She’s graduating this week.   We looked at pictures of her new house (yes, my student worker bought a house!) and ate many donuts and cherries.  It was a lovely afternoon.

I got my hairscut yesterday, too.  As I explained to my new friend (who has yet to be named here.  Help me think of one!), I was beginning to look like Shirley from What’s Happening.  He cautioned me against putting that image in his head.  But really, the Beethoven-like tufts above my ears had to go.  So, I went back to Supercuts where a Russian woman gave me another Clancy. I don’t know why the Russian hairdressers always want to cut all my hairs off.

On the professional front, the folks with whom I have a job interview next week sent me a packet of materials to study. I will be grilled in front of a search committee. I type “search committee” and think “firing squad.” (I suppose the pun would be “hiring squad?”)

Good lord, my life is dull. I need to go on a sexy date or something.

5 Comments

  1. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Donuts? Cherries? Aw, man. Where I’m gonna find those at this hour?

  2. Quiconque said,

    What? No 24-hour supermarkets near you? What’s the point of living in NYC if you can’t get fresh donuts and cherries in the middle of the night?

  3. salmon said,

    nyc is super disappointing in terms of 24 hour groceries. in my hood i can’t buy real food past 7pm on a sunday. nuts.

  4. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    I can almost never find the donuts I would want to eat. The ONLY donuts I like are very old-fashioned ones that are more like zeppole or funnel cake. Coincidentally, those are the ones that would go oh so well with cherries. I can’t eat Dunkin Donuts or Krispy Kreme-type donuts because they have a strong association with church and they make me want to vomit when I eat them now.

    As for cherries, the 24 hour supermarket in my neighborhood now closes at midnight, and that supermarket doesn’t have the best produce anyway. I suppose I could take the subway to the UWS if I were desperate.

    BUT the day after your post, I started to see cherries at the Korean delis that sell fruit in my neighborhood. Yay!

    At any rate, I made up for my disappointment by eating/drinking a young coconut. Yum.

  5. GunMonkey said,

    I used to go to the Supercuts on 32nd and Third. On a bad day I’d have the Asian stylist taking instructions from the Russian stylist on how to cut my hair, while overseen by the Greek manager. It was like getting a haircut from the UN Security Council.

Leave a Reply

