The Dark Side

May 15, 2008 at 12:49 pm (der Fuß)

The fiberglass cast came off today and was replaced by this lovely brace:

My right foot looks like Darth Vader.  It’s kind of awesome.  Like I’m slowly becoming a dark overlord from the feet up.

I saw my raw foot for the first time since the accident.  Yeesh.  It’s hideous!  It’s about 14 colors, ranging in reddish yellow (from the disinfectant goo) to a greenish brown (my natural undertone) to a grey-purple (on the site of the ligament damage) to black (a terrible bruise on my heel and the scabs under the stitches).  My calf was as useless as a bag of water suspended on a stick.  But what it lacks in muscle tone it more than makes up in hair.  My right leg: Sith Lord on the outside, Yeti on the inside.

The nurse pulled out my stitches and the sensation crawled my blood.  In reality, it was no more painful than electrolysis, but I’d already identified my foot as especially vulnerable and tender.  So, each pull of the tweezer made me flinch and yelp.  YES, I am a big squeamish baby when it comes to pain.  When the doctor came back he had to lower the chair because I was feeling lightheaded.

The prognosis is good.  The foot is healing well.  It’s clearly stronger.  I can flex it, which I could not do at all before the surgery.  I still cannot walk on it for 4 more weeks, but I can take the cast off to sleep and to bathe, which makes me so very happy.  (It should also be a relief to a certain gentleman whose shin got seriously abraded by the old cast).

9 Comments

  1. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    You need to strap a knife to your cast or something to complete the look.

  2. TragicCrusade said,

    The force is a dark Lady of the siths only weapon. She bends it to her will.

  3. balladofyoko said,

    Healing well, the foot is. Glad to hear it, I am.

  4. La Belle Helene said,

    Darth Vader on the outside. Chewbacca on the inside. With a little Yoda thrown in. Your foot is a geek.

  5. GunMonkey said,

    I’ve never thought of Star Wars counterparts for my limbs. That will be today’s exercise.

  6. Quiconque said,

    Alas, my doctor just informed me that, although I can take off the cast to bathe, I cannot actually bathe my foot yet. Honestly, I took off the cast last night to sleep, and it smelled like baloney sandwiches in my apartment. I am disgusted.

  7. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Oh, bad. Can you sponge most of it or something?

  8. Quiconque said,

    Baby-wipes saved my foot…and my nose. There’s still a 5″ cylindrical portion of unwashed foot, but it was swabbed with betadine and wrapped in a bandage. The rest of the foot smells like clean baby.

  9. laurencia said,

    Good to know the foot is healing well.

Leave a Reply

