I Feel My Luck Could Change

May 12, 2008 at 9:59 pm (Dating, der Fuß, Work)

I went on a date yesterday. A bona fide date with a bona fide man. He is the same man from the house date last week. We saw Iron Man. I had a fabulous time. It was the first time I’d left the house since the accident for something other than a doctor’s visit or teaching. He pushed me around in the wheelchair, let me rest my casted leg on his knee during the movie, and adjusted my crutches. He installed a wireless router in my apartment. So, for those who were worried, no he’s not a cast fetishist.

In other news, I got called for a job interview in two weeks. It’s an assistant director position at a local college. It’s the kind of work I had hoped to do at Nearby Women’s College and the pay is better. Keep your fingers crossed for me that I get it at the salary I need. I promise to treat you to dessert if I land the job.

Finally, I’ll be seeing the doctor this week for an assessment of my foot. It feels almost like Groundhog Day, since what my foot does after it emerges from the cast will determine how many more weeks of crutching I have ahead of me. I hope the foot’s been healing properly. (Although, to be honest, I was on the verge of tears halfway through the movie).

5 Comments

  1. zantimisfit said,

    Good things!

  2. yoko said,

    Sounds like things are getting better, indeed!

  3. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Very good! And good luck at the appointment. May your foot see its shadow.

  4. ashyknees said,

    Who knew Iron Man would be so moving?

  5. Quiconque said,

    It was a combination of the onscreen love b/w Robert Downey, Jr. and Terence Howard and the excruciating pain in my foot.

Leave a Reply

