I Did Not Die

April 28, 2008 at 5:34 pm (der Fuß)

I survived the surgery. I have a shiny new cast which is significantly heavier than the old one. Pouring rain made negotiating my way with the crutches a little difficult. I have taken the first of many percosets, so far to no avail. Foot hurts and tingles like it’s asleep, but I was told it’s just the local anaesthesia. I was also sedated, and went down as soon as the anaesthetist told me that she was going to give me a “cocktail.” (“Here comes the supernatural anaesthetist/ If he wants you to snuff it, all you have to do is puff it/ He’s such a fine dancer.”) Next thing I knew, I was in recovery, being told to wiggle my toes.

Two titanium screws now hold my foot together. No walking for 6 weeks, after which I will be fitted with a removable aircast. I need to get some sharpies. A certain member of my family is not unlike Jigglypuf in her penchant for drawing on people. My new cast is like a blank canvas to her.

8 Comments

  1. Mama Ass said,

    Best wishes and happy healing!

  2. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Glad to hear all went well. Here are some links to amuse you. Apparently, Amazon now sells self-published books:

    http://www.amazon.com/How-Good-Bye-Depression-Constrict-Everyday/dp/0595094724

    http://www.amazon.com/CONTROL-CHRISTIAN-MARRIAGES-PRIESTHOOD-CHILDREN/dp/1425992609/ref=sr_11_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1209163893&sr=11-1

    Wow, and your blog is now automatically linking to bad hipster poetry.

  3. yoko said,

    I look forward to seeing the graffiti on your cast! I wish you a full recovery.

  4. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Oh, and for your further amusement, my husband Craig Ferguson speaks at the White House Correspondents’ Dinner

    http://www.crooksandliars.com/2008/04/28/craig-ferguson-roasts-president-bush/

  5. zantimisfit said,

    Get better! Does titanium set off airport security thingies?

  6. Quiconque said,

    I should be able to pass through airport and school metal detectors without incident.

    Thanks for the well-wishes. Now to find barrier-free dating options.

  7. peth said,

    Woah! I’m so glad to hear the surgery is over. Be well!

  8. ashyknees said,

    I’m glad you did not snuff it.

Leave a Reply

