Cruel World

April 25, 2008 at 12:16 am (Dating, der Fuß)

Don’t let the problems of this world drive you slowly out of your mind
Just smile at the problem and say, “It bes that way sometimes.”

My surgery is set for Monday afternoon.  As my mom wheeled me into my apartment after yet another afternoon spent in a doctor’s office, I found this note from my management company stuck in my door:

To: All Tenants

Please be advised that we have scheduled a complete modernization/upgrade of the elevator which will commence on Thursday, May 22, 2008.

Therefore, no one will be allowed to use the elevator during this time. We anticipate this work to take approximately 8 to 10 weeks.

Soon I will be a prisoner in my own home. The great irony in all this is that I didn’t really want to go to Boston. I was going to cancel, and stay home, in bed, playing on the computer and watching Law and Order reruns on USA. But then I thought, oh, I should go out and do something different for a change and stop being lazy and isolated. Now I get to spend the next 8 weeks in bed, playing working on the computer, watching Law and Order reruns on USA.

I guess I have until May 22 to go on dates. Don’t want to invite suitors to my apartment too soon. Last time I did that, well, nuff said.

2 Comments

  1. Mama Ass said,

    Wow! That is really, really painful.

  2. ashyknees said,

    I hate to think of this summer being your “summer of George.” Could you relocate to some kind of bungalow while they fix the elevator?

Leave a Reply

