Foot Update

April 21, 2008 at 12:28 pm (der Fuß)

The very crucial bone in my foot is shattered in 4 or 5 places. Surgery this week for sure, perhaps as soon as tomorrow night.

Update: My surgery was rescheduled for Monday. I got a battery of pre-op tests done this afternoon. I wiped out spectacularly trying to get into the hospital. My mother feels terribly guilty for letting me fall, but I told her that today’s was just the first of many during my invalid phase.

Recalling some of the diagnosis from my cat scan results, I’ve done some internet research on my fracture. A little knowledge is a dangerous thing.

From emedicine.com:

Fractures of the navicular body

Fractures of the [navicular] body are commonly associated with other injuries of the midtarsal joint. Sangeorzan et al categorized navicular body fractures into 3 types, as follows:

Type 1 is a coronal fracture with no dislocation.
Type 2 is a dorsolateral to plantomedial fracture with medial forefoot displacement.
Type 3 is a comminuted fracture with lateral forefoot displacement and carries the worst prognosis.
All navicular body fractures with 1 mm or more of displacement require open reduction and internal fixation.

Guess which type I have? Yes, that’s right, type 3. What does that mean? Well, if there are no complications during the surgery, I’m looking at 6 weeks at least of non-weight-bearing cast-wearing.

7 Comments

  1. addie said,

    holy crap! i hope the surgery goes smoothly.

  2. balladofyoko said,

    I’ll be thinking of you. Best wishes with the surgery and recovery.

  3. zantimisfit said,

    Oh no! Hope it heals quickly!

  4. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Oh no! Give me a call afterwards and let me know how it goes!

    Here’s something to cheer you up:

  5. yoko said,

    omg Ten Feet– that video is hilarious!

  6. La Belle Helene said,

    Yes, that is how it is with our family, Qui. When something happens to us, we tend to get the rarest or most severe case. Par example, with the OCD in the lateral femoral condyle of my left knee–in the femoral condyles, OCD has a prevalence of approximately 6 cases per 10,000 men and 3 cases per 10,000 women. That’s 0.003% of the population. And OCD occurs on the weight-bearing surface of the lateral condyle 10% of the time. What’s 10% of 0.003%?

  7. La Belle Helene said,

    Oh yeah, and of the four stages of OCD, I have stage 4, where the lesion consists of a completely detached fragment that is completely displaced from the crater bed.

Leave a Reply

