Pain Management

April 18, 2008 at 10:23 pm (Uncategorized)

Six days as an invalid, and it’s been a learning experience. TragicCrusade came over yesterday to give me some pointers on living with limited mobility. His first bit of advice: clean my apartment. Well, easier said than done. I was never particularly inclined to clean it when I had two working feet. But now that I can’t carry anything and walk at the same time, I am even less interested in picking up around the place. Where is that cleaning person I was promised last summer?

TragicCrusade also had some pointers for pain management. Yesterday both legs hurt worse than they did even on the day of the accident. The “good” leg–good only because it doesn’t have a broken foot–was exhausted and seizing up on me during the long walks to and from the doctor’s office and the car. The bad leg has been twitching in the cast, and each spasm shoots pain through my heel. At one point this afternoon I was lying in the bed, crying, pounding the mattress and screaming for ice. TC gave me some breathing and visualization exercises, which, frankly, I was too distracted to use. Screaming seemed more appropriate.

Things calmed down as soon as I got the ice I demanded. But I knew the pain was going to come back when no one was around to help me. My work friend, Irma, came by to cheer me up with treats and gossip. Right after she left, the pain came back in waves.

You know what’s a good distraction from a searing, stabbing pain in the achilles tendon? The sudden and undeniable realization that you have to go to the bathroom. I booked it like an Olympic champion from the kitchen to the bathroom, pain be damned.

Look out. By the end of the summer I am going to have the strongest left leg in the world.

Oh, and much as I would like to emulate House, the vicodin I was prescribed does absolutely nothing.

4 Comments

  1. Mama Ass said,

    You poor baby. I want to come there and give you Mama Ass care.
    I wish I could.
    Really, Vicodin isn’t cutting it?

  2. Quiconque said,

    Vicodin is doing nothing. I gave it another try yesterday with no success. Tylenol PM and Advil work (or don’t work, as the case may be) just as well. I guess there’s little chance of me turning into Liz Taylor or Liza Minelli.

  3. ashyknees said,

    They’ve got other drugs. There’s a candy store of drugs available.

    The tricky part of visualization stuff is to practice it before you have an intense episode of pain. That way, mindful breathing doesn’t seem so loony when you feel as if, say, someone is trying to split your joint with an ice pick (a sensation I barely remember from my post-bone spur removal surgery).

    When I’ve had bouts of pain, the most difficult thing is to remember that –and I feel quite fortunate in this regard– it will end, or at least subside. Knowing that it will end has gotten me through a few rough nights.

  4. Quiconque said,

    I’ve figured out how to treat the searing pain in the heel. Now to go on WebMD and find out what to do about these contusions.

Leave a Reply

