More Dating Updates

March 31, 2008 at 12:53 pm (Dating)

Before you get all excited, no, I haven’t been on any dates since the history professor, unless you count my trip to Philly with SuperFudge.  (SuperFudge is the best date ever, by the way.  The highlight of last summer was attending the Alice Smith concert at Joe’s Pub with her.)

So, what has been going on in Quiconque’s online dating experiment?

1. Chicken Slinger has bookmarked my profile and has viewed it a total of 50 times!  Recall that my date with him took place last July.  And it was disastrous.   Why would you view a profile 50 times?

2. The British cad has emailed me again, this time to say he has a terrible crush on me.  Another relic from last July.  I’m beginning to feel like a love archaeologist.

3.  I had a less than fruitful online chat with someone from a free dating site.  Early on I realized that English was not his first language.  Be that as it may, his request that we enter into something serious three sentences into the chat was a little overwhelming.  The rest of the conversation was underwhelming.  He never asked me any questions about myself, and he only offered one word responses to my queries.  I didn’t want it to turn into an interrogation (TragicCrusade has accused me of this in the past) so I waited for the guy to offer some information on his own.  What did I get?  Minutes and minutes of silence.  Do I just not understand how chats work?  I must admit that this has happened a few times with other men.  Anyone else out there experiencing this phenomenon?

4. As part of my unwitting project to date all the disabled, I started chatting with a man who revealed he had spina bifida.  It seemed promising, until he later revealed that he is a chauvinist and a mysoginist.  (“Don’t talk out of turn in front of my boys.  That’s enough to make me go all Ike Turner on your ass.”)  Next!

5. I’ve decided not to renew my subscriptions to any of the pay sites.  The lack of success on the pay sites is equal to that of the free ones.  And eharmony is a big fat waste of time and money.  They try to promote themselves as a site for people who are serious and thoughtful about meeting someone, but it’s the same old crap, only wordier.

7 Comments

  1. zantimisfit said,

    #4: WHAT!!?!

  2. Quiconque said,

    Zanti, other gems from this man include, “I want a woman who is not argumentative, without that ‘Strong Woman’ nonsense.” Oh, and he’s Born Again, and justified his position as an attempt to live according to “biblical principles.” Of course, when I called him on his statements, he tried to backpedal, but I made it clear that he is not the man for me, or any woman, for that matter.

  3. zantimisfit said,

    Well, I’m sure there’s a doormat out there for him.

  4. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Zanti: Yeah, sadly.

  5. ashyknees said,

    Re: 1.

    You know why.

  6. Quiconque said,

    Self-abuse!

  7. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    It’s possible some self-abuse may have been involved with #3, too.

Leave a Reply

