No Dogs Allowed, a Rant

March 4, 2008 at 10:06 am (Work)

What makes some people think they can bring their dogs to work?  WTF?  Every week I have to tell some entitled graduate student or snobby professor that their animals are not allowed in my office building.  And then they act like I am being unreasonable.

Some of my coworkers have allergies.  Some of my coworkers have phobias.  We work here every fucking day.  We have the right to work in an environment that does not cause us harm.

(Please do not take this to mean that I do not like dogs.  Dogs are perfectly fine.  But if I wanted to work with dogs, I would have stayed at the Jewish Blind Place or become a vet.)

6 Comments

  1. yoko said,

    Lipby brings our dog to work when no one else is there. Which isn’t much better, I suppose, if we’re talking allergens. I would never take any pet to work.

    I have the same rant about cats in used bookstores. I love cats, I do, but I’m allergic, and I can’t hang around and browse if I can’t breathe.

  2. balladofyoko said,

    I think my comments are getting eaten by spam– I’ve commented on a few posts, and they’ve disappeared.

  3. TragicCrusade said,

    I blame the deteriorartion of civil society. See there are social mores which apparently still need to be explicitly imparted. That said : I further blame purse dogs. They are annoying poop in a a purse or man bag and are just generally entitled. Also they are no longer good for going into earthy burrows to ferret out subterranian rodents.

    The world economy is suffering. If you want to show up in offices dogs: – Get jobs!!

    that last bit – sardonic.

  4. ashyknees said,

    Yes. If you are going to bring any pet to work (except maybe a fish), you should ask for everyone’s permission beforehand unless its some kind of pet care emergency.

    I love dogs, but I suspect that many people who bring dogs to work are doing it as some kind of lord or lady of the manor power display. You’re my favorite social scientist, Qui. What do you think?

    I saw a lot of dogs during my days as a production assistant. A lot of dogs and a lot of leather. In that line of work, your job description often includes dog walker and pooper scooper.

    Also, phooey on bosses who bring their kids to work and expect the admin asst to entertain them. Sorry, working parents, but that sucks.

  5. Mama Ass said,

    A coworker has brought her pets into my place of work that is a hospital.
    I really think some pet owners have a blind spot about how unacceptable that is.

  6. GunMonkey said,

    My ex brings her dog (a golden lab) into her place of work regularly. She even had a security ID card made up for it to wear around its neck. The dog has the run of the place. And she wonders why she doesn’t get along with her coworkers. Pure self-centeredness.

Leave a Reply

