What to Wear?

February 29, 2008 at 12:12 pm (Uncategorized)

Inspired in part by Ashyknees’ recent posts about fashion and my search for a new job, I have been thinking about how to ugrade my wardrobe.   After all, if I’m looking for a grown up job, I need to start dressing like a grown up.  (Today, for example, I am wearing cargo pants, a hoodie, and sneakers.) 

Dressing like a grown up, however, presents some challenges.  I am large and in charge, that’s for sure.  I am also short.  I also seem to be large in places where most large women are not.  Why are there so many sleeveless styles in plus size?  What’s with the empire waists? 

I’ve been scouring the internet for fashion advice, and the What Not to Wear folks are always saying that clothes should be fitted around one’s narrowest part so that curves and shapeliness are emphasized.   My narrowest part is right under my bosom.  So, the empire waist should make sense in theory.  In practice, such designs make me look like I’m pregnant.  (Perhaps because my widest part is situated immediately under my narrowest part?)

The What Not to Wear folks are always putting their contestants in jackets.  A well-fitting jacket is a beautiful thing.  It’s also an elusive thing.  The perfect blazer has become my Questing Beast.  Where can I find a blazer that works with my broad shoulders, large upper arms, short arm length,  and all the business that’s going on in the front?

I just purchased this online.  Let’s see if it does the trick.

13 Comments

  1. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    The shape is quite fetching. It is in a shade of blue that makes me look like death’s head (or perhaps the sickly child), but I think it will look great on you.

  2. Quiconque said,

    Oh, YOU! I never thought to look for Brideshead Revisited on Youtube!

    “Mine looked like a skull.”/”Mine was like a consumptive.”

  3. yoko said,

    Dressing like a grown-up… I should try that one of these days. Maybe that would stop my getting mistaken for a student.

  4. La Belle Helene said,

    A fitted jacket always looks great. It gives one shape. And when worn open, the stripe of shirt beneath provides a slimming effect. I think you should continue on your search for a fitted jacket.

    Also, slim-fitting, straight-legged pants are always a good idea. The little extra width on the bottom balances the width toward the top without the terrible bell-bottom effect that makes short people look even shorter.

  5. La Belle Helene said,

    Oh, and tops with deep vees give the appearance of a longer neck. Though sometimes a camisole is required beneath to keep from looking slutaceous.

  6. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    So wait, slutaceous is bad now?

  7. Mama Ass said,

    I think that looks very nice.
    I have never had to buy real clothes for work, so I am clearly unhelpful.

  8. peth said,

    I love the color, and I share with you the troubles of finding jackets that fit just so. And the anger over all the sleeveless/way too short sleeved options in plus clothing. I simply never reveal my upper arms, NEVER! whoosh!

  9. ashyknees said,

    I look forward to hearing if you like your new jacket. I like the bold color. The shape looks very up-to-date. Plus, you’ll be ready to gut fish like a pro in those sleeves ;).

    Another zany option is to forgo the blazer all together. Depending on the position, other tops may be perfectly respectable choices.

  10. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Yes, I think that for regular office wear, there are many options, such as nice sweaters and blouses. But for interviews and meetings with bigwigs, I would wear a jacket.

  11. Quiconque said,

    Of course, once the weather gets warm, I will not wear a jacket. (Shoot, I might just forgo pants, too. Why not?). But my smudgy, slightly tattered windbreaker is not professional enough for job interviews.

  12. ashyknees said,

    It’s too bad that custom usually requires a suit jacket at job interviews, because most of them suck.

    On March 20th, you may want to wear a sweater in honor of Fred Rogers (yeah, he freaked a lot of people out, but I thought he was really cool)
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/23370703/ (its from msnbc, sorry)

  13. Quiconque said,

    I loved Mr. Rogers. I always associate him with nap time.

Leave a Reply

