Eh

January 29, 2008 at 10:28 am (Dating)

What to write?  It’s been a while since I updated this thing.  But I feel like nothing is new, which is a lie.  More accurately, many things are new, but I am too tired and busy to write about them in my usually witty and engaging style.

1) I got a new haircut.  Seeing the back of my head in one of the wedding photos actually made me shriek out loud.  Growing out my hair these past few months was clearly a failed experiment.  Yes, I know that patience was one of my main lessons last year, but really, how long was I supposed to walk around with a curly trapezoid on my head?  I found myself considering headbands, which really meant that I had given up.  The hair was neither long nor short, and it made me look old and sloppy.   So, I went to Supercuts (because I am a cheapskate) and made the hair stylist work for every last penny of that $14.  Yes, I was picky and made her do stuff over, but when I got to my car and spied myself in the rear view mirror, I couldn’t help yelling, “Yes, yes, yes!”  My hair looks so good, I am in love with myself.

2) Speaking of love….I have a date tonight with a historian I met online.  This is our first date after only two emails and a phone conversation.  I am wearing a short skirt in the hope that historians like legs.

3) I started teaching again, this time in the evening at an extension center waaaay up north.  The highway there doesn’t have lights!  It was eerie to see nothing but blackness behind me as I drove home.  The students’ first papers are due next week.  I hope there will be some doozies worth sharing.

4) I think there’s a dead mouse behind one of my shelves.  I have not the emotional strength to deal with it.  I mean, I could move the shelf and make sure, but what would that serve?  Then I’d really know I had a dead mouse in my apartment, but I would not be strong enough to dispose of it, which would lead to a major FREAK OUT.  So, I’ll just live in a haze of ignorace and incense smoke until I can ask SuperFudge to rescue me later this week.

5) I used the phrase, “my brother-in-law” for the first time this week.  It was strange.

5 Comments

  1. ashyknees said,

    So many wonderful news items! It’s great when online peoples have the balls to meet in person instead of dinking around with emails and such. This historian sounds like a man of action.

    I look forward to reading about the day when you deal with the dead mouse or get someone else to deal with it. Incense + Stink = More Stink.

  2. zantimisfit said,

    Re: #5
    I bet it wasn’t as strange as when your sister used the phrase “my husband” for the first time…

  3. blueseaglass said,

    1) Patience is a virtue I do not posess. I had an unfortunate 3am botched home hair dying incident last month and had to spend ALOT more to have it fixed…

    2) I can’t wait to hear about the date! Yay for short skirts!

    3) I think you need a cat. Go to the pound and get the biggest one eyed scary cat ever who looks like it can swallow a mouse. Bring it home and let it loose.

    Cheers!

  4. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    The Evil Genius Strikes Again

    For some reason, my life frequently parallels Quiconque’s. I swear, I’m not pulling a Single Asian Female on her.
    Anyway, I got my hairs cut short as well recently. It was fun–my stylist used me in a lesson he was giving to his appr…

  5. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Uh, where are those wedding photos, by the way?

Leave a Reply

