F U, Hyundai!

January 9, 2008 at 10:49 am (Work)

Jeff Bridges narrates a Hyundai commercial in which he complains about our instant-gratification culture and lack of loyalty.   It goes something like this: “If you don’t like your nose, get a new one.  If you don’t like your wife, get a new one.  If you don’t like your job, get a new one.”

Uh, wait a minute there, Jeff.  If I don’t like my job, I sure as hell am going to try to get a new one, because, and here’s the crux, if the powers that be at my job one day decide that they don’t like me, they will have no qualms whatsoever in firing me.  It’s called surplus labor.   Makers of Hyundai should know better than anyone else that we are living in a Post-Fordist economy, where the social contract between employer and worker has disappeared.  And this erosion was NOT worker initiated.  So, stuff it.

On a related note, I am currently scoping around for a new job.  And a new nose.

ETA: Perhaps my first lesson in loyalty should be to my car.  So, I guess I won’t trade in my Nissan and get a Hyundai.  I would hate to contribute to the culture of instant gratification.  Hmm, an ad campaign that encourages people to make do with what they have instead of buying shiny new things.  Seems counter-productive, no?

6 Comments

  1. balladofyoko said,

    But I like your nose.

    Will you be getting a new apartment, too?

  2. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    I think you need a new wife! One that’s still shiny and has all her original attachments.

  3. Quiconque said,

    I was joking about the new nose.

    And I’m not looking for a new apartment. I am not going to let mice and a lazy management company drive me out of my home. If every other strategy fails, I’ll get a cat.

    I need to get a first wife before I look for a new wife.

  4. balladofyoko said,

    I was kidding, too, about your nose. But I’d personally leave the apartment to the mice.

  5. balladofyoko said,

    I mean, I do like your nose, but I knew you weren’t getting a new one.

  6. Quiconque said,

    To be fair to the management company, they only just took over the building last year. Many of the problems are inherited. Also, I lived there all last winter without a single mouse sighting. I believe the construction on the high school across the street is the cause of the infestation. Which means that any place that seems mouse-proof can suddenly become a mouse den due to unforseen circumstances. I might go through the hassle and expense of moving, only to find another mouse problem in a few weeks. Death in Tehran.

Leave a Reply

