Take Back the Night

January 4, 2008 at 12:58 pm (Fauna Files)

Because I no longer want to feel like a victim in my own home, I took some direct action against the tyranny of mice. 

SuperFudge had determined that the most likely points of entry were the gaps under my front doors.  So, we went to the Home Despot and purchased door sweeps and adhesive for mounting them.  The Home Despot was sadly lacking in the poison and trap department; so, our next stop was Target, where we bought nothing to aid in our mouse crusade, because Target was completely devoid of anti-mouse paraphrenalia.  Onward we went to Bed Bath and Beyond for draft dodgers, but found nothing else to help our quest.  Finally, three hours later, we picked up some poison at the grocery store.

All this running around led me to believe that everyone within 15 miles of my apartment must be suffering from a mouse invasion. 

Back at the apartment, SuperFudge installed the sweeps on the doors, while I sprinkled peppermint oil on the draft dodgers.  (It may be an old wives’ tale, but some folks say mice hate the smell of peppermint oil).  I threw peppermint oil soaked cottonballs in all the closets and cabinets and behind the bookcases.  We put boxes of poison all around the room.

I still slept with the lights and the tv on, but this time I did manage to sleep.  I heard some faint scrabbling, but that could have been from within the walls, or it might have been the wind rustling a plastic bag in the kitchen.  Or it may have been a mouse that was now stuck inside the apartment since we blocked the main highway through the place.  Traps await its demise.

The management company has yet to respond to my demands.

1 Comment

  1. ashyknees said,

    Any progress on the rodent front?

Leave a Reply

