Thanksgiving for One

November 23, 2007 at 11:09 am (Family)

For the first time in my life, I celebrated Thanksgiving toute seule.  When the prospect of a singular Thanksgiving first occurred to me, weeks ago, I thought it would be incredibly lonely.  I tried to organize a dinner party for my friends who would be stuck in the city, but, as it turned out, all of my friends were traveling home to be with their families.

TragicCrusade and I had made tentative plans, but even before the break-up I’d convinced him that it was not a good idea for me to become known to his family as “that woman who kept their son away from them on Thanksgiving,” especially since Thanksgiving was something of a high holy day to them.

In fact, it was not lonely at all.  That TragicCrusade and I have reached some kind of understanding definitely contributed, otherwise I would have been crying and drunk-dialing everyone in my phonebook.  It was nice to wake up whenever I wanted to, to eat/cook whatever I wanted, to watch whatever I wanted, and to clean up (or not) whenever I wanted.

I did manage to have some traditional foods: hot italian turkey sausage and roasted sweet potatoes.  I was supposed to have had salad as well, but I discovered that, in my emotional confusion over the past few days, I’d put the mixed greens in the freezer, not the crisper.   Alas, there was no pie, because I’d eaten the leftover pie I stole from the company luncheon the day before for lunch and dinner.  Don’t judge me.  Some people use wine; I use pie.  Party Cake ice cream comes in close second.

So, this was the first Thanksgiving where I didn’t have to wake up early and help chop vegetables.  The first in which my mother didn’t browbeat me into watching the parade.  The first where we didn’t get into an argument over the serving platters.  The first where I didn’t have to be surrounded for hours by the smell of food, finally to sit down and ravenously attack a plate of tasty victuals.  The first where I didn’t have to roll my spare tires down the basement steps to play Playstation away from the tedious grownups.  (If any of you suggests that I have become a tedious grown-up, I might get violent.  See gun entry below).

I woke up late.  I watched movies (Sherrybaby and Dial M for Murder).  I ate peanut butter and banana sandwiches for lunch and breakfast.  I napped.  I wrote in my journal.  I napped.  I spent most of the day in my nightgown.  I asked my drunken neighbors across the hall not to stand in front of my door to smoke and talk loudly about their wives’ episiostomies, since both the smoke and the conversation go straight into my apartment.  I went online and researched a fun new thing I discovered my body can do.  I napped some more.  I talked to my mother on the phone.  I did not watch one second of football.

It was a very happy thansksgiving.

Tonight I fly out to meet my family and my sister’s soon-to-be in-laws.   I don’t relish flying during Thanksgiving weekend, but I will do anything for La Belle Helene.  Besides, her fiance’s family is nice, and his mom is a fantastic cook.  I hope they saved me some pansit and coconut rice.

5 Comments

  1. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    I have spent both Thanksgivings and Christmases alone and enjoyed them very much. Being alone is very freeing, and aloneness is most fully experienced on a family holiday. Not that it’s recommended to make a habit of it, unless that’s the kind of person one is, but to experience it and enjoy it now and again in life is not at all a bad thing.

  2. ashyknees said,

    Even though I spent T-day with my parents, I was asleep for much of the time. The funny thing is that had I been by myself, I probably would have done the same thing, only with less guilt.

    Turkey sausage sounds mouth-wateringly good.

  3. GunMonkey said,

    I reserve crying and drunk-dialing for the New Years Eves I spend alone. I definitely sympathize with the football-free Thanksgiving. As a matter of fact, that’s a major reason I try not to make it home for Turkey Day. My family has a strange, unspoken belief that if they don’t watch as much football as possible during the four day weekend God won’t love us enough or something.

  4. blueseaglass said,

    What is this party-cake ice cream? My binge food of choice is sheetcake. Mmmmmm

    Just be glad you were not with my family on turkey day…..

  5. blueseaglass said,

    Dear lord I must try this ice cream!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Love your Wil Wheaton story!

Leave a Reply

