Deprivation

November 13, 2007 at 1:14 pm (Dieting and Fitness)

I’m on day 2 of my draconian diet.  Okay, I’ll be honest.  It’s not completely draconian.  I am still doing Weight Watchers; so I’m on the point system.  The bad/good news is that I gained so much weight back over the summer that now I get to eat more points.  This week I am trying not to dip into the 35 extra points, and not use any points I gain by exercising.

So, I’m sitting at my desk, eating some vegetable barley soup, trying to psych myself up about salad and fat free yogurt while, in the staff kitchen, not 20 ft away from me, Crusty and Irmaturd are eating HOME-MADE PUMPKIN PIE. 

6 Comments

  1. ashyknees said,

    Why go draconian? Why not use the points you gain by exercising? What’s the rush?

  2. MamaAss said,

    I think I understand the mindset.
    You really want to feel like you are on a diet.
    It’s the Catholic in you.
    Mortification.

  3. Quiconque said,

    There is the mindset, yes, but there is the more practical concern of an expensive bridesmaid’s dress that I purchased over the summer, when I weighed significantly less, that I need to fit into for a wedding in January.

  4. ashyknees said,

    “You really want to feel like you are on a diet.”

    WTF? For me, that’s a ticket on the express train to the Ben and Jerry’s section of my grocer’s freezer. I can’t stand the notion of willfull deprivation. The less I think about dieting and focus on the goal of healthy eating and exercise, the better. I do on occasion, get a very brief feeling of self-satisfaction when I chose not to stop by the local cupcake pusher. But that has more to do with the fact that they charge 2.75 for a freakin’ cupcake. That’s just me and my lapsed-Protestant ethic.

    I also think the Buddhist mindfulness works well in these situations.

    Anyway, I’m sure you’ll get into your dress with a bit of room to spare.

  5. Quiconque said,

    Yesterday, as I walked through the frozen food aisle, I spied my lover, Key Lime Pie. I said out loud, “Fuck you, Key Lime Pie. Fuck you,” and then I bought some gardenburgers.

  6. TragicCrusade said,

    Yes certainly theres nothing like that feeling of Protestant Self Satisfaction. Here Here.

Leave a Reply

