Vermin Problem

November 12, 2007 at 4:19 pm (Dating)

The Vermin has reappeared.   Perhaps he read this blog and smelled blood in the water.  He sent me a song over the weekend.   It was not a happy song.  It was not a love song.  It was Cat Power’s “Metal Heart.”  Here are the lyrics for your perusal:

Losing the star without a sky
Losing the reasons why
You’re losing the calling that you’ve been faking
And I’m not kidding

It’s damned if you don’t and its damned if you do
Be true ’cause they’ll lock you up in a sad sad zoo
Oh hidy hidy hidy what cha tryin to prove
By hidy hidy hiding youre not worth a thing

Sew your fortunes on a string
And hold them up to light
Blue smoke will take
A very violent flight
And you will be changed
And everything
And you will be in a very sad sad zoo

I once was lost but now I’m found was blind
But now I see you
How selfish of you to believe in the meaning of all the bad dreaming

Metal heart, you’re not hiding
Metal heart, you’re not worth a thing

Now, if someone sends you a song that says you’re not worth a thing and you’ll end up in a sad, sad zoo, you wouldn’t necessarily respond positively, would you?  I didn’t.  I suppose I should have ignored him, but I sent him a song in reply: “Already Dead” by Beck.

Time wears away
All the pleasures of the day
All the treasures you could hold
Days turn to sand
Losing strength in every hand
They can’t hold you anymore

Already dead to me now
‘Cause it feels like I’m watching something die

Love looks away
In the harsh light of the day
On the edge of nothing more
Days fade to black
In the light of what they lack
Nothing’s measured by what it needs

Already dead to me now
‘Cause it feels like I’m watching something dyin’

Now, if you send someone a song, and they reply with another song, the refrain of which is “Already dead to me now,” would you take that as an invitation to try harder?  Because his reply to my song was the message, “I want you.”

My reply to that so far has been silence, oh, and this entry.

2 Comments

  1. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    I imagine that thinking with one’s dick would severely compromise one’s ability to do even surface textual readings. The extent of one’s comprehension would be something like, “Ooo! Words! I’m horny.”

  2. ashyknees said,

    Can’t messages from this person be blocked? He is a time and energy suck.

Leave a Reply

