Night Music

November 7, 2007 at 10:51 am (Dating)

Calypso by Suzanne Vega

My name is Calypso
And I have lived alone
I live on an island
And I waken to the dawn
A long time ago
I watched him struggle with the sea
I knew that he was drowning
And I brought him into me
Now today
Come morning light
He sails away
After one last night
I let him go.

My name is Calypso
My garden overflows
Thick and wild and hidden
Is the sweetness there that grows
My hair it blows long
As I sing into the wind
I tell of nights
Where I could taste the salt on his skin
Salt of the waves
And of tears
And though he pulled away
I kept him here for years
I let him go

My name is Calypso
I have let him go
In the dawn he sails away
To be gone forever more
And the waves will take him in again
But he’ll know their ways now
I will stand upon the shore
With a clean heart
And my song in the wind
The sand will sting my feet
And the sky will burn
It’s a lonely time ahead
I do not ask him to return
I let him go
I let him go

8 Comments

  1. yoko said,

    Weird. In reading these lyrics, I tried to fit them to the music to “Luka.”

  2. Quiconque said,

    Oh, no, this song is nothing like Luka!

  3. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    I am sorry.

  4. Quiconque said,

    Thank you, Shpuss. I will be all right. It will be all right.

    Update: 2:28 pm
    Nevermind. It’s not all right. I am not all right. I have no idea how long it’s going to take for me to be all right. I need to shoot some fucking guns this weekend, is all I’m saying, and try really, really hard not to eat a pie.

  5. Mama Ass said,

    So sorry. Shooting some guns sounds like a great diversion though.

  6. La Belle Helene said,

    I, too, am sorry. (But why I gotta find out about the goings on in your life from your blog?)

  7. Quiconque said,

    I was in your home last night, waiting for you, and eventually gave up!

  8. La Belle Helene said,

    There are telephones, but whatever…

Leave a Reply

