Scary Children’s Programming*

October 18, 2007 at 5:10 pm (Entertainment)

I grew up in the ’70s; so I’m used to children’s television shows looking a little bit like a fun drug trip, but this clip is just too surreal for me.

More disturbing still is this video from the same show featuring Elijah Wood teaching the creatures how to dance. Pay special attention to his face as he sings, “Do the Puppetmaster.” Chilling.

*Thanks to TragicCrusade for bringing this to my attention. I know whom to blame when I have nightmares tonight.

6 Comments

  1. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    I actually enjoyed “Party in my Tummy”. It was kind of sick. In an enjoyable way.

    The Elijah Wood clip, though… *shudder*. The Precious has him!

  2. jadelaide said,

    that facial hair does not suit him.

  3. Mama Ass said,

    My kids watch this show pretty often. My middle child loves this show, but she is the weird one. They did eat their vegetables at dinner after seeing the “party in my tummy” bit.

  4. ashyknees said,

    I’m glad to know that the party segment gets weird children to eat vegetables (hopefully, it won’t encourage the vegetarian children to stop eating all together), but it had to be one of the more disturbing moments in children’s tv. Yeah, I want to go to the party of slow death by digestion.

    On the other hand, the red cyclops is cool. And I think Elijah Wood is perfect for this program. He fits right in to that world.

  5. Quiconque said,

    I was hanging out with my god son, The Oshimo (now 12), last weekend and he was talking about some kids’ show his little brother (now 5) watches. At one point he looked around the room said, hesitantly, “I don’t know if I should say this, it [the show] is like everyone’s on, uh, drugs.”

  6. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Kids raised in that household are too smart for their own good.

Leave a Reply

