Realization

September 21, 2007 at 10:13 am (Uncategorized)

I have no hobbies. 

I have some obsessions, yes, but I don’t have any hobbies–at least none that can be shared.  I showed TragicCrusade (yes, you’re part of this blogiverse now) my Sims2 notebook (which contains 33 detailed geneaologies of the Simpleton family, meticulous house plans, occupation charts, and lists of each Simpleteon and his/her spouse over 8 generations), and he said, “Because you’re an anthropologist, I find this very cool.  If you were not an anthropologist, I would run screaming from your apartment.”

So, friends of mine, help me find some hobbies.  What of what I already do can be turned into a hobby?  What new hobbies can you recommend, based on what you know of my temperament (mercurial) and personality (borderline)?  Please note, I have no artistic talent, am very impatient, and do not appreciate animals in the home.

Thanks in advance for your help.

ETA: I think I might actually like orienteering.  Anyone of you out there do that?

7 Comments

  1. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    I do not do orienteering. However, I find the idea fascinating. I will try to join you should you have any orienteering outings.

    I suspect you would very much enjoy target sport shooting.

  2. yoko said,

    I did orienteering in junior high– it wasn’t hardcore, since we had to stay on school grounds, but I enjoyed it.

    Methinks you should get back to biking. 🙂 I like Ten Feet’s suggestion about sport shooting. Maybe also something like bowling or boxing?

  3. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Oh, I have been thinking about taking up biking. Perhaps we can ride some trails together this fall?

  4. Quiconque said,

    Shooting and boxing seem like good ways to focus my general rage and turn it into something goal oriented and less harmful (to both myself and unsuspecting guys on the subway).

    Orienteering combines my love of figuring out stuff and my secret desire to be a nature girl (even though the outdoors leave me itchy and congested).

    Biking. Yes, I should start doing that again. This summer Superfudge resurrected the bikes, cleaned them up, and fixed the tires. And I own TWO. So there’s no excuse except my mental image of my own fat ass on the tiny bike seat…… (Yes, I know, the more I ride the damn thing the less space my ass will take up. And I can always buy a more forgiving bike seat to use until then).

    Thanks for the suggestions so far. Keep ’em coming, esp. ideas that speak to my innate LAZINESS.

  5. Mama Ass said,

    Orienteering angers me. I’d much prefer biking or bowling as a hobby. Archery is also good.

  6. Quiconque said,

    From what I recall, you have a particular history that involves both orienteering and biking, Mama Ass.

  7. peth said,

    Doesn’t secret message origami count as a hobby? You kick ass in that…

Leave a Reply

