Menu

August 26, 2007 at 6:40 pm (Uncategorized)

Handwritten on a white board at the Jamaican restaurant where I bought an unsatisfactory beef patty and a microwaved coco bread:

Today’s Soup of the? Day (sic)

Goat Head or Chicken Noodle

delicious soup

Also advertized was a meal featuring cow skin and tripe.  The man on line ahead of me ordered it, and was charged double for his dish, because, as the woman behind the counter explained, cow skin and tripe are two meats, not one.

This is a bad restaurant.  I’ll do my Caribbean foraging on Burke Ave. from now on.  (Yes, I know Faroza’s is awesome, but I was in the mood for Jamaican, not Trinidadian food.  Yes, I know I’m a traitor.)

3 Comments

  1. ashyknees said,

    I think the woman should have paid the customer to take the dish, because skin and tripe are two unmeats. And that’s today’s comment of the day from me.

  2. jadelaide said,

    hahah, i have nothing to say that can top ashy’s comment!

  3. Quiconque said,

    The day I pay extra for cow skin (!) and tripe is the day I become a vegetarian.

Leave a Reply

