Detritus

August 23, 2007 at 12:03 pm (Uncategorized)

It is official, my mother is selling the house next door.  This is a good thing, because the house had become a financial burden, and was also uninhabitable for a long time.  But now I have to clear out all my stuff, which I am not looking forward to doing.  Most of the stuff I don’t need, and she’d paid for a service to take out most of the unwanted things.  But there are some boxes and bins that I just don’t know what to do with.  I cannot fit anything else into the wee adult apartment.  But I don’t want to throw out everything wholesale without going through it all.  And yet, I have not the energy nor the motivation to deal with it.

So, I am trying to reframe this unpleasant chore in terms of the new adult life I am trying to enjoy.  Come on, Quiconque, don’t you want to enjoy your 38th year on the planet unencumbered by clutter and nonsense?  Yes, you do.   You’ve got a sleek little streamlined apartment, a reliable nondescript car, a good job, and a burgeoning sex life.  You do not need old toys, mildewed books, and broken costume jewelry.  Throw that stuff out. 

Besides, you’ll need the space for the new shoe fetish you’ve decided to adopt.  Meet my latest acquisition.  It just screams “sexy librarian.”

10 Comments

  1. yoko said,

    The shoe, she is very cute.

  2. Quiconque said,

    High praise indeed from a sexy librarian! There’s my official endorsement.

  3. ashyknees said,

    Go, Imelda.

    XOXOXO,
    Envyknees

    P.S. There’s always monthly storage for your childhood treasures.

  4. Quiconque said,

    At this rate, I will need monthly storage for my new shoes. Current quest: a knee-high, plus-calf, modestly-heeled, non-cankle-giving, boot. Does such a thing exist?

  5. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Your shoe fetish–it is so charming.

    I am sure such a boot exists. However, you may need to order online and exchange sizes or styles a few times.

  6. Mama Ass said,

    Excellent shoe.
    Release the moldy treasures.
    You have survived well without them thus far.

  7. Dixie said,

    Ungh. Those shoes made my jaw clamp shut with envy.

  8. zantimisfit said,

    A couple years ago The Man and I divested ourselves of lots of stuff that had been sitting in a storage shed on his mother’s property. I went through everything, took pictures and cried before throwing almost all of it into a big dumpster. Even now I wonder if a few things I got rid of should have been kept. But realistically I hadn’t really even looked at the stuff for about 10 years. I knew that if I had lived my life fine for 10 years without it, I probably could live the rest of my life without it too. Don’t let things own you.

  9. zantimisfit said,

    By the way, those shoes are fantastic.

  10. Quiconque said,

    Spent the afternoon clearing out my stuff. I’m not done, but it was a lot easier than I tought. I just threw most of the stuff away–three big garbage bags full. I’ll be there again tomorrow and the next day. The biggest problem is the biting insects in the back yard. They make the chore unbearable. Oh, and I had to stop for the night when someone in a neighboring yard surprised a skunk.

    Thanks for the advice, folks. It actually feels good to winnow my belongings down.

Leave a Reply

