My First Dis

August 6, 2007 at 3:13 pm (Dating)

Yesterday I received my first hostile communication in this online dating experiment.  The potential suitor sent me a wink and a message; so I looked at his profile, the text of which was rather bland, but not offensive.  So, I decided to check out his photos.

That was where it got weird.  He had several photos, all taken in the shopping mall across the street from where I work.  In all of them, he is wearing a wrinkled suit, 3 sizes too big.   In each photo, he is posing in front of a different car in the movie theater parking lot.  So, yes, he’s wearing someone else’s suit, posing in front of someone else’s car.

I called him on it, and his response was to give me his phone number, which of course I did not call.   His next message to me seemed to have been written by Bigfoot: “ah ah ah very funny i see u got joke.”  The thing is, there was no joke there, unless he was the joke.  So, I turned him down with my stock, cordial rejection letter, and wished him the best of luck in his search.

Then I received this gem from him: “Well u need to get a life ok”

The man who spent the afternoon in another man’s suit, standing next to other men’s cars told me to get a life.

5 Comments

  1. zanti said,

    Sounds to me like a kid. Does the picture seem like maybe he’s rather young? Perhaps he is wearing his dad’s suit…

  2. Quiconque said,

    Alas, no, Zanti, this was a full-grown man, clearly approaching 40.

  3. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Once again, my theory that people who can’t be bothered to type out the word “you” when writing e-mails aren’t worth the trouble–is confirmed.

  4. addie said,

    what a nightmare! maybe you should start a flickr account. that’s how i met seuss.

  5. Niche Dating, Meh « Charismatic Megafauna by Quiconque said,

    […] more discouraged by and fed up with pictures of shirtless men posing in front of cars (their own or someone else’s), profiles listing “has 5 children; lives with 0,” and guys claiming they are in their […]

Leave a Reply

