Heartache and Retail Therapy

July 14, 2007 at 9:54 pm (Dating)

After weeks of  going back and forth, I’ve had to end a very promising flirtation that was not living up to its potential.  It’s killing me, because the man in question is wonderful in many ways.  I think I will always be fond of him.  And, I hope to remain in contact with him.  However, things were not progressing as quickly as I would have liked, and he was balking for some reason he would not reveal.  So, as much as I enjoyed every interaction I’ve had with him, I need to find a flesh-and-blood man who will take me out on dates. 

The decision to stop pursuing a romantic relationship with the man in question did not come easily.   I woke up this morning looking like someone had punched me in the face.  Love had punched me in the face.  Damned love.

So, I did what any self-respecting woman does when she’s nursing a broken heart: I went shopping.  First stop was Sephora for my favorite perfume, Eau d’Issey.  I’ve been denying myself this scent because it has gotten almost prohibitively expensive since I first discovered it in Paris in ’96.  But, I’m feeling sad; so I treated myself.  And now I smell even better than when I stepped out the shower this morning.

Next stop, Kenneth Cole for some extremely sexy shoes.  I put on these shoes, and let me tell you, sexy waves just emanate from the feet up.  They’re high–4″–but the platform makes them extremely comfortable.  And yes, they are most flattering to the calves.

The best part is a candy-colored stripe along the back that makes the shoes appear edible.  I almost licked them in the store.

Now, to find a place to wear my new perfume and shoes, and someone to go with….Oh, Chiwetel!

6 Comments

  1. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    It’s for the best. Trust me. If he’s showing patterns of inconsiderate or dodgy behavior already, better the tears now, when you’re mostly in love with the possibility of him, than later, after you’re in it for real.

  2. Quiconque said,

    Yes, you are being very rational.

    But what do you think of the SHOES?

  3. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    I could not see the shoes when I last visited–the link was broken.

    However, now the link works.

    My goodness! Those shoes cannot wait for a man. If nobody with a penis turns up to take you out in those shoes in the very near future, I will just have to do it.

  4. Mama Ass said,

    They are hot shoes, to be sure.

  5. Quiconque said,

    The new shoes have arrived. I’m teetering around the apartment in my pyjamas and heels. I am in love with my own feet, they look so good.

    In a more sensible vein, I also purchased a pair of burgundy patent leather Converse All Stars. Even when I’m cazh, my shoes are still lickably awesome.

  6. rainbofro said,

    Oh my gosh. I just did this on Thursday – the ending the relationship part – for the same EXACT reasons. I just keep trying not to think about it.

Leave a Reply

