Too Hot to Sleep

July 10, 2007 at 4:33 am (Uncategorized)

Sweaty feverish dreams about losing new friends, regaining lost ones, and inappropriate phone calls at work. Each hour woke up sticky and lost, only slightly relieved that what I had dreamt was not quite true. Stiff neck, dry mouth, and drenched pillow. My parquet tile is warping under the front door.

I did see an old exfriend yesterday. Saw her from the back, called out her name. Received a warm hug for my troubles. I was happy that I had dolled up for my evening with the Thin Man. Her hair was longer. She noticed that my hair is darker. I asked her about her music. She asked about my family. Gave me sympathy for my father. We exchanged phone numbers and promised to call. When our friendship ended all those years ago, I was disconsolate. I grieved for its passing. I had to throw a party just to surround myself with people who loved me. I felt my heart was breaking. Back then, I could not have imagined encountering her again with anything resembling grace and warmth. But there it is. I wonder if I’ll ever use that phone number.

5 Comments

  1. Quiconque said,

    I am a bleary eyed zombie this morning. Good thing I don’t have to impress anyone with my beauty and elegance today.

  2. balladofyoko said,

    Qui, I must say that I’m glad you’re writing again. It’s great to read about parts of your life. Hope you manage to get better sleep soon.

  3. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    Do you want a free air conditioner? I have one that is only a few years old. I replaced it with a much smaller one, since this one was just a bit too much overkill for my office, which is tiny. Since you have a car, it is a simple matter to throw it into your trunk.

  4. La Belle Helene said,

    You are a better person than I. But then, I am the mean one. I would not have spoken to her, not even acknowledged her presence. I can hold a grudge. I saw this woman a few years back soon after the dissolution of your friendship. She was lucky I didn’t trip her ass in the street. And now she laughed at the fact of me marrying a bassplayer. Still don’t like her….

  5. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    She laughed that you’re marrying Basie? I think you should throw her down in the street next time you see her.

Leave a Reply

