Quiconque, Bosskiller*

July 6, 2007 at 11:14 am (Work)

The folks at TWoP have come up with a term to describe unlucky actors who join a show in its last season. Those actors are called “Showkillers.” Before The Gilmore Girls, Lauren Graham was a notorious showkiller.

Looking over my recent employment history, I have come to realize that I am a Bosskiller.  Consider this:

  • During my tenure at the Blind Jews, my boss was “invited to retire early.”
  • When I was working at Major Department Store, the store manager was also encouraged to seek early retirement.  Meanwhile, the assistant store manager was transferred to a smaller outpost.  Her replacement was quickly transferred to another store immediately after I left.
  • Most recently, at Nearby Women’s College, my boss has been summarily fired.

I almost feel that I should warn potential employers of their impending doom should they hire me.

Am I attracted to sinking ships?  (This theme would be better examined under the Dating category, perhaps?)  Or is it that I am so brilliant and efficient that my very presence highlights the gross inadequacies of my superiors?

There is some good news in all of this.  The woman who fired my boss called me yesterday to assure me that my future at Nearby Women’s College is secure, because everyone there loves me and thinks I’m the bee’s knees.  She also hinted strongly that I could be a contender when they officially open the search for my boss’s replacement if I finish my dissertation soon.

*I have often thought about throwing my boss off the balcony outside my office, but I have never threatened her with violence. I have poor impulse control, but I am not a moron.

Leave a Reply

