My First Chat

June 30, 2007 at 2:59 pm (Dating)

I’ve decided from now on that internet dating related communications will progress from winks/smiles to email to phone call to face-to-face.  Chatting online is stupid.  It’s slow, disjointed, and rife with grammatical and spelling mistakes.

I’m actually writing this blog entry while I’m chatting with a potential suitor.  That should give you an indication of how well it’s going.

  • He forgot who I was
  • He asked for more pictures
  • I strongly suspect he is chatting with more than just me right now

I was willing to ignore the above, but then, he got himself into deep and treacherous waters when, in response to my query about his having children, he replied, “it’s ok sweetie i have learned a long time that in this world men and women are different women are gathers and men hunters. so it’s ok i understand.”

Oh no, he didn’t.

Really, could he have found a worse person in the world with whom to pull that crap?  I nearly whipped out my blazing sword of anthro justice and cut his very good-looking head off.  But I’m trying to learn impulse control.  So, I just informed him that I teach gender and anthropology and I wasn’t trying to make a statement about the nature of women and men, I was just trying to find out what he was like.

I guess I’d better go back to the chat.  He may redeem himself.

ETA: It didn’t get better. So, I let him go, too.

3 Comments

  1. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    But… *sputter*… his response doesn’t even make any SENSE.

  2. Quiconque said,

    Yes, I guess I could be generous and suppose that his comment to me was intended for the other person he was chatting with, but even then, he wasn’t paying sufficient attention to our conversation, which is a grave sin if he wants to get to stage three, the face-to-face. I let him down gently, and now he won’t take no for an answer.

    This process is so frustrating.

    Oh, another cure for melancholy is a GOOD midnight chat with Treesong. He gives good chat. Too bad he’s taken and across the ocean. He claims that the Dutch appreciate my aesthetic. He’s going to have to prove it next time I visit.

  3. Ten Feet of Steel said,

    I may be applying for a job there. If I go, I’ll find you a husband.

Leave a Reply

